Drunk Driving and OUI Charges

Boston Drunk Driving Attorney and OUI Lawyer in Massachusetts

Charges for Operating Under the Influence “OUI” in Massachusetts can lead to serious consequences. OUI Penalties can include jail time, fines, treatment programs, license suspension, loss of employment, and thousands of dollars in increased insurance premiums.

In Massachusetts, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. If you are a commercial driver, the limit is halved at 0.4 and 0.2 for drivers under the age of 21. Massachusetts has strict laws relating to drunk driving, and penalties increased dramatically in 2005 as a result of high-profile new legislation known as “Melanie’s Law.”

As a driver in Massachusetts, you are automatically subjected to the implied consent law. This means that you agree to submit to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine if an officer has reasonable cause to believe you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you refuse a test, your license will be suspended for 180 days for a first offense. If you have a prior drunk driving conviction on your record, your license will be suspended for 3 years. The automatic suspension increases to 5 years with two prior OUI convictions, and to a lifetime suspension if you refuse the test and have 3 previous drunk driving offenses.

OUI and Drunk Driving Penalties in Massachusetts

The penalties for an OUI/drunk driving conviction in Boston and throughout Massachusetts can be steep. You should gain an understanding of these penalties and contact a qualified criminal defense attorney before it is too late to fight your charges.

First OUI Conviction

Jail – Up to 30 months
Fine – $500 – $5,000
Assessment – $250
OUI Victim Trust Fund – $50
License Suspension – 1 year
Court Assigned Treatment Program

Second OUI Conviction

Jail – 30 days to 30 months
Fine – $600 – $10,000
License Suspension – 2 years (eligible for Hardship License after 1 year)
Ignition Interlock Device Required

Third OUI Conviction

Jail – 150 Days to 5 years
Fine – $1,000 – $15,000
License Suspension – 8 years (eligible for Hardship License after 2 years)
Ignition Interlock Device Required

Fourth OUI Conviction

Jail – 1 to 5 years
Fine – $1,500 to $25,000
License suspension – 10 years (eligible for Hardship License after 5 years)
Ignition Interlock Device Required

Fifth OUI Conviction

Jail – 2 to 5 years
Fine – $2,000 – $50,000
License Suspension – Permanent

If you’re facing OUI charges in Massachusetts, you need a high-quality Criminal Defense Attorney to protect your rights. Contact me today at (617) 657-4464 for a free phone consultation.

Boston Criminal Defense