Assault and Battery

Boston Assault and Battery Attorney

Assault and Battery, or Domestic Assault and Battery, is a serious criminal charge. A conviction in Massachusetts carries the potential for significant jail time, probation, and fines. If you’re facing charges for assault and battery, you need a serious Massachusetts criminal defense attorney to fight for you.

A Boston Criminal Defense Attorney can determine the most appropriate defense in your case. Common legal defenses to Assault and Battery include: Self Defense, Protecting Another Person, and Defending Your Home.

An assault and battery conviction in Massachusetts carries up to a two and a half year jail sentence and a $1,000 fine. Assault and battery is a misdemeanor. There are a number of variations of assault and battery, some of which are felonies and carry the possibility of significant state prison time. These include:

Assault and Battery with a Dangerous Weapon is a felony offense. A dangerous weapon can mean a gun, knife, or even a car.
Maximum penalty: 10 years in state prison + $5,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 15A(b).

Assault with a Dangerous Weapon is a felony offense that does not require actual touching of the victim.
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in state prison or $1,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 15B(b).

Assault and Battery by Discharging a Firearm is a serious felony.
Maximum Penalty: 20 Years in state prison + $10,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 15E.

Aggravated Assault and Battery, a felony, occurs when the victim:
-suffers serious bodily injury; or
-is pregnant (and the defendant knows about the pregnancy); or
-has a restraining order against the defendant.
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in state prison + $5,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13A(b).

Indecent Assault and Battery requires that the defendant touched the victim in a sexual way. A conviction for this felony will almost certainly land you on the sex offender registry.
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in state prison (victim 14 or older).
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13H.
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in state prison (victim under 14).
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13B.

Assault with Intent to Rob or Murder or maim is a felony charge.
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in state prison 0r $1,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 15.
Maximum Penalty: 20 years in state prison (while armed).
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 18(b).

Assault with Intent to Commit a Felony is a felony itself.
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in state prison or $1,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 29.

Assault and Battery on a Police Officer is a misdemeanor. A conviction carries a minimum 90 day sentence.
Maximum Penalty: 2 1/2 years in jail or $5,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13D.

Assault and Battery on a Person Over 60 or with a Disability is a felony.
Maximum Penalty: 3 years in prison + $1,000 fine.
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13K(a1/2).
Maximum Penalty: 5 years in prison + $1,000 fine (with bodily injury).
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13K(b).
Maximum Penalty: 10 years in prison + $5,000 fine (with serious bodily injury).
Source: M.G.L. ch. 265, sec. 13K(c).

This is not an exhaustive list, and each case is unique – you need the expertise of a Massachusetts criminal defense lawyer to determine the best way to fight your charges.

Call me today at (617) 657-4464 for a free case evaluation.

Boston Criminal Defense