Arson crimes carry substantial penalties, including prison time and fines. You could spend up to two decades of your life in prison if you’re convicted of arson. Don’t face these charges alone– get help. Call Simons Law Office today at (617) 657-4464.
As outlined in the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 266 arson in Massachusetts usually involves two components:
- Setting fire to a building,
- property damage and/or injury resulting from said fire.
The most serious arson charge involves the burning of a dwelling house (including houses, apartments, boarding houses, hospitals, or other places where people may reside) either directly or indirectly (by setting fire to a neighboring structure, for instance), with purpose and malicious intent. The extent of the damage done to the building– whether mere charring confined to one room or complete destruction of the building– is irrelevant when it comes to securing a conviction.
A conviction for such a charge carries with it a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of up to 20 years.
Other arson charges include the burning of meeting houses, any attempts at burning down a building, and setting fire to a building in an attempt to fraudulently collect insurance. Every one of these charges carries with it a fine and the possibility of jail time.
If you or a loved one has been charged with arson, the best opportunity for a favorable outcome rests with knowledgeable and skilled legal representation. Simons Law Office knows the law, and knows how to defend against these charges.
Ensure that your side of the story is heard– call Simons Law Office today at (617) 657-4464 or submit your information via the contact form to the left for a free consultation.